Tsar Alex And Inky Honoured By ISHOF
Craig Lord
With four gold medals apiece, the Russian and Dutch sprinters join the Hall of Fame in 2009 with Jenny Thompson, while Iet van Feggelen is recognised at last


Alexander Popov (RUS) and Inge de Bruijn (NED), with four solo Olympic titles each, and Jenny Thompson, winner of more medals than any other American woman at Olympic and world level, head the list of those who will be honoured in an unduction ceremony at the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Florida for the class of 2009. 

"This is clearly one of our most diverse and international classes in a long time," said Bob Duenkel, ISHOF's staff liaison to the international selection committee of over 150 aquatic authorities.  

The class of inductees includes two honorees from the Netherlands, Russia, and the USA, and one from the nations of Italy, Japan and Great Britain.  Those who will be recognised are:


  • Swimming:
  • Inde de Bruijn (NED)
  • Alexander Popov (RUS)
  • Jenny Thompson (USA)
  • Iet Van Feggelen (NED) - Honour Pioneer Swimmer: 
  • From the world of Synchro - Olga Brusnikina (RUS) and Judy McGowan (USA) Honour Contributor.
  • Water polo: Gianni Lonzi (ITA) as layer and coach
  • Open water: Kevin Murphy (GBR), king of the English Channel; and Ikkaku Matsuzawa (JPN) as honour coach.


Great to see Van Feggelen on the list. She was of a generation whose achievements and talents were lost to a time of war. Ven Feggelen and Dutch countrywoman Cornelia Kint set nine backstroke world records between them in 1938 and 1939, respectively taking gold and silver medals over 100m at the 1938 European championships. Neither figure in Olympic history.